Everyone needs advice sometimes. You might wonder if you need a lawyer when you get into a car crash in New Jersey.
A car crash lawyer can provide valuable guidance after an accident. Some minor collisions can be handled without legal counsel. However, if your case is complex or insurance companies give you a low offer, hiring a lawyer might be your best course of action.
At Judd Shaw Injury Law, our personal injury lawyers are dedicated to providing practical information so accident victims can pursue the most favorable outcome. Having all the facts can bring you peace of mind and help you make sound legal decisions.
In the Garden State, every accident is different. Our car accident lawyers offer free consultations to ensure that you get the answers you need about your specific case.
- Is a Lawyer Required for a Minor Collision?
When vehicle safety features work perfectly, they can minimize the risk of property damage and injuries. For example, a report by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), released in 2019, revealed that seat belts saved almost 15,000 lives in one year.
Motorcycle helmets and minimum-age drinking laws are credited with preventing fatalities and severe injuries in the same crash report. Indeed, many state laws aim to minimize the probability of injury.
The consequences of some accidents are no more than temporary inconveniences. Yet, how can you know the difference between a minor hassle and something more serious?
When no one was hurt
Should you hire a lawyer if a car accident does not cause physical injury? The answer depends on how you came to conclude that there was no harm done.
When you are in an accident, your body’s natural responses, such as shock or an adrenaline rush, can mask pain. You might feel fine immediately following the incident, realizing you have been injured hours later.
The symptoms of some medical conditions like concussions and internal bleeding are not always readily apparent. Other healthcare conditions can worsen if you are not treated promptly.
A healthcare professional is best qualified to identify and diagnose medical conditions. Do not assume that you (or any other involved party) are uninjured until you receive the “all-clear” from a physician.
In New Jersey, you must report any accident that results in the injury or death of any person. If you find yourself facing this situation, it would be wise to consult a legal professional.
You will not need to collect compensation for as many medical bills if you are free of injury and require no treatment. However, you might be surprised at the cost of covering property damage expenses. A car crash lawyer can work to ensure you get what you deserve to cover your losses.
When there is no property damage
New Jersey law requires motorists to report accidents causing more than $500 in damage to property, including vehicles, buildings, and landscaping. You can call the local police from the scene or submit your electronic report to authorities within 10 days of the event.
Though your car might look fine, getting it checked by an automotive technician is usually a good idea. A mechanic can tell you whether the inner workings of your vehicle sustained damage.
What if no one was hurt and the property damage was minor? You might conclude that your car crash does not require a lawyer.
If you are unsure, discussing matters with a legal professional can clarify and help you understand your options. Judd Shaw Injury Law’s personalized consultations are free of charge, so don’t hesitate to reach out to us with your questions.
Meeting the Challenges of a Serious Collision
Some people feel you should wait until a serious issue, like an uncooperative at-fault driver or a paltry offer from an insurance company, crops up before seeking legal counsel. Yet, the experienced car accident lawyers of Judd Shaw Injury Law want to urge you to try and avoid problems before they begin.
Lost cases due to comparative negligence
Negligence occurs when someone does something (or fails a duty) that harms someone else. When motorists exceed speed limits, they are responsible for the damage caused by their negligent behavior.
In New Jersey, a principle of modified comparative negligence applies. In other words, the injured party can receive damages when they are less responsible for the accident than the other party. In this situation, a simple slip of the tongue or another innocent statement can disqualify you from receiving compensation for your injuries.
A New Jersey court would decide who is most at fault. Your car crash lawyer can gather persuasive evidence to prove the other party is at fault, maximizing your chances to win damages.
Statute of limitations
Every state has a statute of limitations, or a deadline, for filing personal injury claims. In New Jersey, the statute of limitations expires at 2 years from the date of the injury unless your case meets specific criteria for exceptions.
At Judd Shaw Injury Law, we understand the urgency of the statute of limitations. Our personal injury law team can promptly:
- Obtain any available video evidence from the accident scene
- Secure eyewitness testimony
- Interview experts, including medical or accident reconstruction professionals
- Collect essential records, such as property damage estimates, police reports, and medical statements
- Document your lost earnings
The sooner you hire a lawyer, the sooner he or she can begin building your case.
It’s Easier to Handle Your Car Crash the Judd Shaw Way
Not all car crashes require legal intervention. Yet, justice does not always come easily. A team of dedicated, experienced law professionals can often secure a better outcome than an individual acting alone.
New Jersey insurance companies can be bullies. When they are more concerned about profit than fairness, the attorneys of Judd Shaw Injury Law can be your knights in shining armor.
We believe our clients deserve the best service possible, delivered with courtesy, honor, and respect. Our ethical standards show respect for our community and the people that call it home.
Other East Coast law firms might be satisfied with average efforts, but the Judd Shaw Way means we “work the WOW” to achieve noteworthy results.
Our experienced personal injury lawyers are ready to pursue excellent results on your behalf. Are you ready to see the difference we can make?
Meet our passionate and committed team as soon as possible. Contact us 24/7 at (866) 909-6894 or tell us about your case in a brief message. Our car crash lawyers look forward to seeing how we can help you.